Removing iOS 7 Beta.

Following a lot of emails, tweets and a few comments and asks in Tumblr, I have decided to help those who want to also remove iOS 7 beta from their phone until the official update comes out. It is quiet a simple process which took me around 10 minutes to do, if you do have any issues please contact me. Now here is my guide to removing the iOS 7 beta.

iOS 7 Beta Removal Guide.

1) Your first step to removing the beta is to make sure that you have a copy of your devices up to date .ipsw file. This can be located on this website here: http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/. You are going to want to make sure that you have the latest iOS for your device downloaded to your desktop.

2) You are now going to want to open iTunes up and connect your iPhone via USB.

3) You will then want to put your phone into DFU mode (Device Firmware Upgrade mode), this is done by holding down the power button for 3 seconds. Then WITHOUT releasing the power button hold down the home button for 10 seconds. Now release the power button and keep hold of the home button until iTunes notifies you, that you are in DFU mode.

4) Once loaded you are going to want to; If you are mac option+click or windows shift+click this ‘Restore iPhone…’

Image.

5) Then find the iOS 6 file on your desktop. Wait for it to unpack and then ta-da one has restored their phone to iOS 6. Now restore from an old back up and your phone will be all ok.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Jacob says:

    One problem, when I connect it iTunes it doesn’t let me access my phone settings it. It says I need to active my developers account.

    Like

    1. James Yorke says:

      I’ve posted a reply, comment which may help you.

      Like

    2. Alex says:

      i had this same problem, i connected my phone to itunes as well and then i just held the home and power button until the itunes and charger image appeared, then itunes started to download a restore for my phone and it worked.

      Like

      1. James Yorke says:

        Coming to think about it, I think I remember doing this it enters it into a special state called “DFU” mode. I feel like a fool for not mentioning this. Thank you Alex for bringing this up.

        Like

    3. Joe Downing says:

      same exact thing happened to me yesterday when i tried this. did u figure out what to do? im thinking of juts goin to the apple store but i dnt know what they are going to say. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF ANYONE KNOWS WHAT TO DOOOO!!!!!

      Like

  2. vae says:

    i have the iphone4s and i downloaded the 6.1.3 software and when i go to restore it, it says that the firmware file is not compatible 😦

    Like

    1. James Yorke says:

      I’ve posted a reply, comment which may help you.

      Like

  3. Davis Darrow says:

    hey dude i did this correctly and its sayin my firmware is not comaptiable i downloaded ios 7 last night and dont want it anymore what do i do?

    Like

    1. James Yorke says:

      I’ve posted a reply, comment which may help you.

      Like

  4. James Yorke says:

    A lot of people seem to be having trouble in that iTunes is not saying the firmware is not compatible, I have a few tips for this. If they do not work then I am not completely sure how to fix this. But try:

    1. Make sure that iTunes is up to date, I do know that an update was released a few weeks ago for iTunes (when the iOS 7 beta came out).

    2. If that does not work, then the only other option I can think of, is that delete the iOS 6.1.3 (iPhone 4 and 4S) or 6.1.4 (iPhone 5). Remember that iPhone 5 is on 6.1.4 and the iPhone 4 and 4S are on 6.1.3 and try again maybe from a different site.

    I will try and think of some more ways to potential fix this, but at this moment in time this is all I can think of.

    Like

  5. Taylor says:

    I cannot get my phone into DFU mode. I’ve tried it a million times. It either does nothing or turns off then turns right back on.

    Like

    1. James Yorke says:

      My instructions to get into DFU mode might not be the best, try this YouTube video. This person explains it in a much more easier to understand matter. Just remember to shift (or Option for mac) and click to chose the .ipsw file you want (which is the most upto date version). This may only for work version 1 of the beta as version 2 has just been released I do not know if this will work with the newer version.

      Like

  6. Naomi says:

    mine isnt working either after it has ‘extracted software’ it comes up with a message saying this ‘the iPhone “iPhone” could not be restored. this device isn’t eligible for the requested build.

    Like

Leave a Reply

