Converting to a new age of photography

So after nearly six years of questioning myself and my love of photography, I have decided that I do not have to choose between DSLR and good old standard 35mm film photography, I can working in both fields. I cannot believe that I was so close-minded before thinking that I can only choose on field to pursue my interest in. Today I ordered my Canon 1100d body and a lovely 28 – 105mm f/3.5 – 4.5 USM lens. This lens offers me the standard lens which I have coming for my birthday (35 – 55mm USM lens) however is has a more specific f-stop range.

I have worked with DSLR briefly during my GCSE in photography but ever since I finished my GCSE’s I have only been working with film, as it is all I could afford. This has changed and I have decided to commit myself to buying a DSL and invest some money into buying a Canon 1100d with 2 lenses. I feel that this investment will help me expand my skills as a photographer and will allow me to explore my artistic side, which I hardly seem to do anymore.

I have included the specification of the Canon 1100d below, however this can be found here on the Canon webpage (http://www.canon.co.uk/For%5FHome/Product%5FFinder/Cameras/Digital%5FSLR/EOS%5F1100D/),

  • 12.2 megapixels
  • Maximum ISO 6400
  • Digic 4 processing
  • 3 frames per second film recording
  • 1080p Video recording
  • Compatible with EF and EF-S Lenses
  • 9 Point AF system
  • 63 Zone iFCL metering system

Overall this seems to be a really good introductory kit, it was a weigh up between the Nikon D3100 and this Canon 1100d, however from talking to photographers, retail assistance and reading online Canon make the most sturdy and top quality lenses on the market (which is the reason why I have chosen the 1100d).

Leave a Reply

